The group stage is over in Pyeongchang and now the playoffs await.

Women’s ice hockey at the 2018 Winter Olympics continues Friday night with the beginning of the playoff stage in Pyeongchang. Led by stars such as Hilary Knight, Kendall Coyne, and captain Meghan Duggan, Team USA will be looking to win its first gold medal since 1998 after winning four consecutive World Championships from 2013-17.

Canada finished first in the group stage with a perfect 3-0-0-0 record after topping the U.S., 2-1, in their final preliminary game. It was a close match that suggests another thrilling gold medal game is in the books for these two teams.

It’s important to note that the schedule for this event gets a bit wonky given the time difference from Pyeongchang. For example, the gold medal game is on Thursday, Feb. 22 local time in South Korea, but it’ll still be Wednesday night in the United States. The schedule below takes that into account, so games are listed based on when they’ll be played on Eastern time.

The Americans have dominated the international hockey scene recently, winning four consecutive World Championships, but they haven’t won Olympic gold since the first women’s tournament in 1998. Canada beat the U.S. in the gold medal games in 2010 and 2014, which has led to a fierce rivalry between the two countries.

A potential USA-Canada rematch for gold is the big thing to root for, but this is also a unique opportunity to watch players who often don’t get to play under the bright lights. Make sure to stay glued to The Ice Garden, SB Nation’s women’s hockey website, all month for the most detailed coverage around.

Team previews from The Ice Garden

Team USA
Team Canada
Team Finland
Team Olympic Athletes from Russia
Team Sweden
Team Switzerland
Team Japan
Team Korea

How the tournament works

The tournament starts with the eight teams divided into groups of four for the preliminary stage. The United States, Canada, Finland, and Olympic Athletes from Russia are in Group A. Sweden, Switzerland, Japan, and Korea are in Group B.

All four teams from Group A will automatically advance to the playoff stage, with the top two teams automatically advancing to the semifinals. The other two teams play in the quarterfinals against the top two finishers from Group B.

The playoff stage plays out as a standard single-elimination bracket. There’s also a losers’ bracket to determine the complete order of all eight teams.


All times ET

Saturday, Feb. 10

Group B: Sweden 2, Japan 1
Group B: Switzerland 8, Korea 0

Sunday, Feb. 11

Group A: United States 3, Finland 1
Group A: Canada 5, Olympic Athletes from Russia 0

Monday, Feb. 12

Group B: Switzerland 3, Japan 1
Group B: Sweden 8, Korea 0

Tuesday, Feb. 13

Group A: Canada 4, Finland 1
Group A: United States 5, Olympic Athletes from Russia 0
Group B: Switzerland 2, Sweden 1

Wednesday, Feb. 14

Group B: Japan 4, Korea 1
Group A: Canada 2, United States 1

Thursday, Feb. 15

Group A: Finland 5, Olympic Athletes from Russia 1

Friday, Feb. 16

Quarterfinals: Olympic Athletes from Russia 6, Switzerland 2

Saturday, Feb. 17

Quarterfinals: Finland 7, Sweden 2
5th-8th place game: Korea vs. Switzerland, 10:10 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 18

5th-8th place game: Japan vs. Sweden, 2:40 a.m.
Semifinals: United States vs. Finland, 11:10 p.m. (NBCSN)

Monday, Feb. 19

Semifinals: Canada vs. Olympic Athletes from Russia, 7:10 a.m. (NBCSN)
Seventh place game, 10:10 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 20

Fifth place game, 2:40 a.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 21

Bronze medal game, 2:40 a.m. (USA Network)
Gold medal game, 11:10 p.m. (NBCSN)

The first Winter Olympics and how Canada ruled men’s hockey


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here